loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • No patient of Monkeypox detected in Bangladesh: BSMMU VC

  • Padma Bridge to be opened on Jun 25

  • Djokovic and Nadal cruise to straight-set wins

  • French Open: Swiatek through but Krejcikova and Osaka out

  • Monkeypox virus outbreaks are containable, says WHO

32 public universities to take admission test under cluster system

32 public universities to take admission test under cluster system

A total of 32 public universities this year will enroll students at undergraduate level for 2021-2022 academic years through admission tests under cluster system. Three new universities – Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman University, Kishoreganj, Chandpur Science and Technology University and Habiganj Agricultural University – joined the system in the ongoing year.

The entrance test will be held in three clusters and the schedule of the entrance test will be fixed in a meeting of university parishad.

The decisions were taken on Thursday (Apr 7) at a meeting organised by the University Grants Commission at UGC Bhaban in the capital with Vice-Chancellors of 36 public universities, chaired by UGC acting chairman Afroza Begum.

One of the clusters is for general and science and technology universities, another for agricultural universities and the other one for engineering universities.

The UGC asked the universities concerned to resolve the hassles by helping students in selecting their desired university centrally, completing the migration process by stipulated schedule and fixing the reasonable admission fee.

It was decided in the meeting that this year the cluster admission test will be taken at different colleges alongside the universities campuses concerned.

The eight other universities beyond the cluster system have been asked to take entrance tests, publish results, and announce the admission dates quickly along with being advised to reduce the entry test fee and the seats of some departments.

The UGC officials said they have been talking with the education ministry for establishing a separate body to hold unified admission tests for all public universities.