loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Banks to remain open on next Saturday

  • Chiellini says goodbye to Juve as Lazio make Europa League

  • ‘China's zero-Covid policy to hit Asia aviation recovery’

  • Mild heat wave may continue in four districts

  • Delhi suffers at 49C as heatwave sweeps India

New CEC and four ECs take oath

New CEC and four ECs take oath

Newly appointed Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal and four other Election Commissioners took oath on Sunday (Feb 27) afternoon. Chief Justice Hasan Foez Siddique administered their oath.

The oath-taking ceremony was held at the Judges' Lounge of the Supreme Court. Supreme Court's Registrar General Mohammad Ali Akbar conducted the oath-taking ceremony, while judges of the Appellate Division, officials of the apex court and the Election Commission were present at the function, local media reported.

The new CEC and four ECs will attend their respective offices at the Nirbachan Bhaban at Agargaon in the capital from Monday.

The four Election Commissioners: are District and Sessions Judge (Retd) Begum Rashida Sultana, Brigadier General Ahsan Habib Khan (Retd), Senior Secretary (Retd) Md Alamgir and Senior Secretary (Retd) Anisur Rahman.