loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Padma Bridge to be opened on Jun 25

  • Djokovic and Nadal cruise to straight-set wins

  • French Open: Swiatek through but Krejcikova and Osaka out

  • Monkeypox virus outbreaks are containable, says WHO

  • Biman starts online check-in from Jun 1

President forms Election Commission with Habibul Awal as CEC

President forms Election Commission with Habibul Awal as CEC

President Md. Abdul Hamid on Saturday (Feb 26) formed Election Commission (EC) with former Senior Secretary Kazi Habibul Awal as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC).

The president also appointed a former judge, two former civil servants and a retired military officer as election commissioners (ECs), local media reported.

The four ECs are: former District and Sessions Judge Begum Rashida Sultana, Brigadier General (Rted) Ahsan Habib Khan and former senior secretaries Md Alamgir and Anisur Rahman.

"The president today appointed the CEC and the four ECs as per the power bestowed upon him as per the Article 118(1) of the Constitution of Bangladesh," said two separate gazette notifications issued over the reconstitution of the EC.

President Hamid appointed the CEC and the ECs from the recommended list of 10 names submitted by the Search Committee, which was constituted on Feb 5 as per the newly enacted 'Chief Election Commissioner and Other Election Commissioners Appointment Act 2022'.

The tenure of the immediate past election commission led by CEC KM Nurul Huda expired on Feb 14.