loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • PM reaches Washington DC from New York

  • PM seeks Bangladeshi expatriates’ investment in country

  • Dakhil exam to begin on Nov 14

  • RU admission test from Oct 4 to 6

  • Asensio bags hat-trick as Real hit Mallorca for six

Habibur Rahman takes oath as lawmaker of Sylhet-3 constituency

Habibur Rahman takes oath as lawmaker of Sylhet-3 constituency

Newly elected Member of Parliament (MP) from the Sylhet-3 constituency Habibur Rahman took the oath of office at the Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban on Sunday (Sep 12).

Jatiyo Sangsad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath to Habibur Rahman elected in the by-poll with the ruling Awami League's ticket, said a press release.

Secretary of the Parliament Secretariat KM Abdus Salam conducted the swearing-in ceremony. Chief Whip Noor-e-Alam Chowdhury and whip Iqbalur Rahim were present at the function.

After taking the oath, Habibur signed the oath book as part of the traditional ceremony for the lawmakers.

The by-poll to the Sylhet-3 constituency was held on Sep 4 as the parliamentary seat fell vacant after Mahmud Us Samad Chowdhury died of Covid-19 on Mar 11 this year.