loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • NOVOAIR announced 10% discount on the ticket fare

  • Regal Furniture offers up to 15% discount for Eid

  • Bangladesh Innovation Summit 2020 unveiled

8 pairs of inter-city trains to ply from Sunday

8 pairs of inter-city trains to ply from Sunday

Eight pairs of inter-city trains will run on different routes on a limited scale from Sunday (May 31) and 11 more pairs will also start plying from Jun 3. Railways Minister Nurul Islam Sujan said this today at a press conference in the conference room of the Rail Bhaban in Dhaka, local media reported.

The minister said due to maintaining the health rules to prevent the spread of coronavirus, 50 percent of railway tickets will be sold and the prices of tickets will not be increased as rail is a service-oriented transport of the government.

“We will sell 50 percent of the train tickets to comply with the health rules. All train tickets will be sold online. At the same time, pillows and blankets will not be provided at air-conditioned cabins in the train. No food will be served on the train during this ongoing coronavirus situation,” he informed.

He urged all the passengers to wear masks during their train journey.

No passenger will be allowed to board on the train without a ticket, he said, adding that no passenger will be picked up from the airport station and everyone has to get into the trains from Kamalapur Railway Station.

The railway minister said passengers should take necessary food and drinking water with them and they must arrive at the concerned station at least 60 minutes before the departure of the train.

None will be allowed to enter the station without a ticket and the visitor’s platform will remain closed, he said, adding that no train will stop at Airport, Joydebpur and Narsingdi stations.

The intercity trains that will be in operation from Sunday are: Subarna Express (Chattogram-Dhaka-Chattogram), Udayan Express (Chattogram-Sylhet-Chattogram), Lalmoni Express (Lalmonirhat-Dhaka-Lalmonirhat), Kalni Express (Sylhet-Dhaka-Sylhet), Chitra Express (Khulna-Dhaka-Khulna), Sonar Bangla Express (Dhaka-Chattogram-Dhaka), Banalata Express (Chapainawabganj-Dhaka-Chapainawabganj) and Panchagarh Express (Panchagarh-Dhaka-Panchagarh).

The 11 inter-city trains that will start plying from Jun 3 are: Tista Express, Benapole Express, Nilsagar Express, Rupsha Express, Kapotaksha Express, Madhumati Express, Meghna Express, Kishoreganj Express, Upakul Express, Kurigram Express and Brahmaputra Express.