loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • 8 pairs of inter-city trains to ply from Sunday

  • PM for engaging local public representatives to stem Covid-19

  • Covid-19: Bangladesh sees record 28 deaths in a day, 1764 new cases

  • La Liga to resume on Jun 11

  • SSC, equivalent exam results on Sunday

PM casts vote in JS by-polls at City College centre

PM casts vote in JS by-polls at City College centre

Prime Minister and Bangladesh Awami League President Sheikh Hasina cast her vote in the Jatiyo Sangsad (JS) by-polls to Dhaka-10 constituency at Dhaka City College centre this morning. The PM cast her vote by using Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) at 9:10. PM’s daughter Saima Wazed Hossain was present on the occasion, local media reported.

The JS by-elections to Dhaka-10, Gaibandha-3 and Bagerhat-4 constituencies began at 9 a.m. and it will continue till 5 p.m. without any break.

The EVMs are being used in Dhaka-10 constituency, while ballot papers are being used in other two constituencies.

Dhaka-10 constituency fell vacant after Awami League lawmaker Barrister Sheikh Fazley Noor Taposh resigned on Dec 29 to contest in the mayoral post in the Dhaka South City Corporation election.

Six candidates are contesting in the Dhaka-10 by-polls. The candidates are - Md Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin from Awami League, Sheikh Rabiul Alam from BNP, Haji Md Shahjahan from Jatiya Party, Nawab Khaza Ali Ahsan Askari from Bangladesh Muslim League, Mizanur Rahman Chowdhury from Bangladesh Congress and Abdur Rahim from PDP.

In Dhaka-10 constituency, the number of polling centers is 117 with 776 booths.