loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Bangladeshi films will compete in global screen soon, says Hasan

  • Biden, Macron in agreement on Covid, climate change

  • Biden to reinstate Covid travel bans: Official

  • Real secure much-needed win in La Liga

  • Larry King, legendary talk show host, dies

Six candidates contesting Dhaka-10 by-elections

Six candidates contesting Dhaka-10 by-elections

Six candidates, including Bangladesh Awami League’s Md Shafiul Islam (Mohiuddin) and BNP’s Sheikh Robiul Alam, will contest the Dhaka-10 parliamentary by-election slated for Mar 21.

No candidate withdrew his candidacy by Saturday (Feb 29), the last date for withdrawal of nomination. So, six contestants including that of Awami League, BNP and Jatiyo Party, will contest this by-polls, local media reported citing Returning Officer GM Sahatab Uddin.

Electoral symbols will officially be allotted to candidates on Sunday and then the contestants can start their campaign.

Four other candidates are – Jatiyo Party’s Hazi Md Shahjahan, Bangladesh Muslim League’s Nabab Khawza Ali Hasan Askari, Bangladesh Congress’s Mizanur Rahman Chowdhury and PDP’s Abdur Rahim.

Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) will be used instead of traditional ballot papers in the by-polls.

On Feb 6, Bangladesh Election Commission announced the schedule for Dhaka-10 and two other constituencies – Gaibandha-3 and Bagerhat-4 fixing Mar 21 for balloting.

Dhaka-10 constituency fell vacant after ruling party MP Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh resigned on Dec 29 to contest the Dhaka South City Corporation mayoral election.