loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Tigers stun Australia again to lead T20 series 2-0

  • PRAN-RFL gives protective equipment to DRU

  • Eriksen finally returns to Inter Milan

  • Spain to face Brazil in Olympics final

  • Olympic football: Brazil win shootout to set up Spain final

Luka Modric wins 2019 Golden Foot Award

Luka Modric wins 2019 Golden Foot Award

Croatia captain Luka Modric has been awarded the 2019 Golden Foot award in a ceremony in Monaco on Tuesday (Nov 12) night. The Golden Foot award is given to players who stand out for their athletic achievements, both as individuals and team players, and for their personality. The award is only given to active players of at least 28 years of age, and can only be won once. Ten nominees are chosen by a panel of international journalists based on the criteria that they are at least 28 years of age and still playing. Out of this list, the winner was selected by an online poll.

Croatian soccer star and Ballon d'Or winner Luka Modric travelled to Monaco to collect the 2019 Golden Foot award, which is given to successful players over the age of 29.

With this accolade, the Croatian magician became the 17th player to receive the prize, with the first having been awarded to Roberto Baggio way back in 2003 whilse the Italian was playing at Brescia in Serie A.

As reported by Marca in an interview, Modric spoke about receiving this accolade and said, "It is an honour for me to receive this award."

He continued, "I am returning to my best level, as I showed in the last game [against Eibar]. There are seven very important matches until the end of the year and we will try to keep playing well."

The past 16 winners of the Golden Foot award:

2003 - Roberto Baggio

2004 - Pavel Nedved

2005 - Andriy Shevchenko

2006 - Ronaldo Nazario

2007 - Alessandro Del Piero

2008 - Roberto Carlos

2009 - Ronaldinho

2010 - Francesco Totti

2011 - Ryan Giggs

2012 - Zlatan Ibrahimovic

2013 - Didier Drogba

2014 - Andres Iniesta

2015 - Samuel Eto'o

2016 - Gianluigi Buffon

2017 - Iker Casillas

2018 - Edinson Cavani

- Source: News websites