loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Suarez scores twice on Atletico debut

  • Leicester beat Man City 5-2

  • Shahed sentenced to life imprisonment in arms case

  • Tigers’ Sri Lanka tour postponed

  • Dhaka-18, Siranjganj-1 by-polls on Nov 12

India beat Tigers to seal T20 series

India beat Tigers to seal T20 series

Third Twenty20 International, Nagpur

India 174-5: Iyer 62 (33), Rahul 52 (35); Soumya 2-29
Bangladesh 144 all out: Naim 81; Chahar 6-7, Dube 3-30
India won by 30 runs; India won series 2-1

Pacer Deepak Chahar took a sensational six-wicket haul, including a hat-trick after entertaining half-centuries from Shreyas Iyer and K L Rahul, as India defeated Bangladesh by 30 runs in the third and final T20I to win the series 2-1 in Nagpur on Sunday (Nov 10). Chahar (6/7 in 3.2 overs), who registered the best figures in a T20 match on Sunday besides becoming the first Indian to take a hat-trick in the shortest format, shared nine wickets with Shivam Dube (3/30) to secure India's first T20 series win at home this season. Heavy late evening dew rendered the spinners ineffective but Chahar and Dube rose to the occasion. Opener Mohammad Naim (81 of 48) took Bangladesh deep into the game before they lost five wickets for 20 runs to blow it all away.

Deepak Chahar recorded the best-ever bowling figures in a Twenty20 international with 6-7 as India beat Bangladesh by 30 runs in Nagpur.

The 27-year-old seamer took his six wickets in 3.2 overs, with a closing hat-trick as the Tigers were bowled out for 144 in reply to India's 174-5.

Chahar's efforts set up a 2-1 series win for India.

The previous T20 bowling record was 6-8, taken by Sri Lanka's Ajantha Mendis in 2012.

Chahar, playing in only his seventh T20 international, ripped through the Bangladesh batting, despite a fine 81 from opener Mohammad Naim, with not a single boundary conceded in his 20 deliveries.

Earlier half-centuries from Shreyas Iyer - with a T20 best 62 off 33 balls - and KL Rahul's 52 from 35 had set the platform for India's total.

The Tigers won the opener by seven wickets, its first-ever win over India in the T20 format. India won the second T20 by eight wickets to level the series.