loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • PM for global efforts to repatriate Rohingyas for regional stability

  • President leaves for Nepal on Tuesday

  • Politicians must ensure healthy political environment, says President

  • Two trains collide in Brahmanbaria, at least 15 killed

  • Liverpool beat Man City to go nine clear

Shilpakala Padak 2018 recipients announced

Shilpakala Padak 2018 recipients announced

Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy will honour seven individuals with Shilpakala Padak 2018 for their contributions to numerous fields of art and culture. The names of Shilpakala Padak 2018 recipients were announced at a press conference held at the Seminar Room of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy on Tuesday (Jul 16), local media reported.

The names of seven personalities who will receive 'Shilpakala Padak 2018' for their contributions to their respective fields were announced Tuesday. They are - Gouro Gopal Haldar (vocal), Sunil Chandra Das (instrumental), M Hamid (dramatics), Mina Barua (folklore), Alokesh Ghosh (fine arts), Shukla Sarkar (dance) and Jayanta Chattopadhyay (recitation).

Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy Director Liaquat Ali Lucky announced their names at a press conference.

President Md. Abdul Hamid will hand over the award at a function on Thursday (Jul 18) at Shilpakala Academy’s National Drama Theatre Auditorium. Additional Secretary of Cultural Affairs Ministry Abu Hena Mostofa Kamal will chair the event, while the State Minister for Cultural Affairs K M Khalid will be present as special guest. Shilpakala Academy DG Liaquat Ali Lucky will deliver welcoming speech at the event.

Each awardee will get a gold medal, a cheque for Tk 1 lakh and a certificate.

Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy has been awarding this prestigious prize to seven prominent literary personalities every year since 2013. A 16-member committee selects the recipients.