loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • DU ‘Kha’ unit admission test results published

  • Italy beat Greece to secure Euro 2020 qualification

  • Spain draws Norway in Ramos's record-setting game

  • BASIS National ICT Awards 2019 conferred

  • PM questions about student movement after meeting demands

Fifth phase polls to 21 upazilas on Jun 18

Fifth phase polls to 21 upazilas on Jun 18

The voting of five upazilas, where elections were postponed due to irregularities and other reasons, will be held on Jun 18. Besides the five postponed upazilas, voting will also be held 16 other upazilas as per schedule on that day. Bangladesh Election Commission took the decision on Wednesday (May 22). In this regard, a letter was sent to the returning officers concerned, local media reported.

The 16 upazilas are: Nakla of Sherpur, Naldanga of Natore, Kamarkhanda of Sirajganj, Sundarganj of Gaibandha, Rangabali of Patuakhali, Taltoli of Barguna, Bandar Upazila of Narayanganj, Gazipur Sadar, Kalukhali of Rajbari, Shayestaganj of Habiganj, Madaripur Sadar, Bancharampur and Bijoynagar of Brahmanbaria, Adarshanagar and Sadar Dhakkhin of Cumilla, Sadar Upazila of Noakhali.

The five postponed upazilas are: Purbadhala of Netrokona, Jamalganj of Sunamganj, Katiadi of Kishoreganj, Mathbaria of Pirojpur and Chhagalnaiya of Feni.

Earlier, the Election Commission announced to hold the election in Poba upazila of Rajshahi (which was also postponed) on Jun 18.

The first phase of upazila elections held on Mar 10, the second phase on Mar 18, the third phase on Mar 24 and the fourth phase on Mar 31.