loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • Rain, thunder showers likely over 8 divisions

  • Delhi sizzles as temperatures cross 45C

  • Haaland wins second Premier League Golden Boot

  • Standard Chartered and TMSS empower 11,000 farmers

  • Buyers should not be harassed while purchasing plots, flats: President

Awami League candidate wins Naogaon-2 polls

Awami League candidate wins Naogaon-2 polls

Bangladesh Awami League candidate and incumbent member of parliament Md Shahiduzzaman Sarker has secured the Naogaon-2 constituency in the 12th National Parliament election. He secured the victory by securing 118,941 votes with the Boat symbol. His closest rival, an independent candidate with Truck symbol, Engineer Akhtarul Alam, secured 74,381 votes, local media reported citing Returning Officer of the constituency.

Naogaon District Commissioner and Returning Officer Golam Moula said the election took place in a free and fair atmosphere. Voters cast their votes in a festive mood. No unwanted event has been reported anywhere in the election, he added.

On Dec 29, Bangladesh Election Commission had postponed the election for Naogaon-2 due to the death of Aminul Islam, an independent candidate of the constituency.

The election concluded without any untoward incidents on Monday (Feb 12).