loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • Rain, thunder showers likely over 8 divisions

  • Delhi sizzles as temperatures cross 45C

  • Haaland wins second Premier League Golden Boot

  • Standard Chartered and TMSS empower 11,000 farmers

  • Buyers should not be harassed while purchasing plots, flats: President

Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury elected as Speaker for 4th consecutive term

Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury elected as Speaker for 4th consecutive term

Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, member of Parliament (MP) from Rangpur-6 (Pirganj) constituency of the 12th Jatiyo Sangsad, on Tueday (Jan 30) elected as Speaker of the Jatiyo Sangsad unanimously for the fourth consecutive term. The first sitting of the 12th Jatiyo Sangsad began with Deputy Speaker Shamsul Huq Tuku in the chair and announced for Speaker election in the House. Later, the newly-elected Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury took oath at the President's chamber of the Jatiyo Sangsad. President Mohammed Shahabuddin administered the oath. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was present at the ceremony, local media reported.

Wife of the President Dr Rebeka Sultana was also present during the oath-taking ceremony, among others.

Treasury bench lawmaker Obaidul Quader moved the motion for the election of the speaker while Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury supported it.

After elected as the Speaker, Deputy Speaker and the Chief Whip congratulated Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury.