loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • Haaland scores five as City thrash Luton

  • Mallorca beat Sociedad to return to Copa del Rey final

  • Australia women's team to tour Bangladesh for 1st time

  • Return filing deadline for companies extended till Apr 30

  • Govt to adjust power tariff from Mar 1

MP Afzal Hussain takes oath

MP Afzal Hussain takes oath

Newly elected Member of Parliament (MP) from Patuakhali-1 constituency Md Afzal Hussain took the oath at the Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban in Dhaka on Monday (Nov 13). Jatiyo Sangsad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath at 1 pm at the oath room of the Parliament complex, local media reported.

JS Whip Iqbalur Rahim and Md Mohibbur Rahman, MP, and officials concerned were present at the oath-taking ceremony conducted by Senior Secretary of Parliament Secretariat KM Abdus Salam.

After taking the oath, the newly elected MP, Afzal signed the oath book as per custom.

A former journalist of the state-run national news agency Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS), Advocate Afzal Hussain is an organizing secretary of ruling Bangladesh Awami League. He was elected unopposed MP in the by-election to Bangladesh Parliament Constituency 111 (Patuakhali-1) as the seat fell vacant at the death of former lawmaker Advocate Md Shahjahan Mia.