loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • PM for master plan over use of land in Upazilas

  • Doly Shaontoni gets BNM nomination form

  • FBCCI, Bangladesh HC join hands to boost exports to UK

  • Sammalito Islami Oikya Jote to join national polls

  • Election Commission firm to hold fair polls: CEC

Siddiqur Rahman elected in Natore-4 constituency

Siddiqur Rahman elected in Natore-4 constituency

Bangladesh Awami League backed candidate Siddiqur Rahman Patwari has been elected Member of Parliament (MP) unopposed as there was no other contender for the by-election to Natore-4 constituency. Rajshahi Regional Election Officer and Sub-Election Returning Officer Md Moin Uddin Khan declared him as MP unopposed on Sunday (Sep 24), local media reported.

The Natore-4 (Gurdaspur-Baraigram) constituency fell vacant following the death of valiant Freedom Fighter and lawmaker Professor Abdul Quddus on Aug 30. Later, Awami League picked Patwari for contesting Natore-4 by polls.

District Jatiyo Party president Alauddin Mridha and Chhatra Dal leader Mehedi Hasan Noman collected nomination papers for this seat, but none of them submitted their nomination papers on Sep 17, the last day of the submission date.

The by-election was scheduled to be held on Oct 11.