loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Vienna named world's most liveable city

  • Rafael Nadal wins Rogers Cup title

  • Cabinet okays draft of law to recognise Dawrae Hadith (Takmil) Certificate

  • BD women emerge group winners

  • BTRC fixes Tk 0.45 as uniform minimum call rate

Mahmudullah to lead Tigers in T20I

Mahmudullah to lead Tigers in T20I

Mahmudullah Riyad will captain Bangladesh team in the first match of the Rocket two-match Twenty20I series against Sri Lanka on Thursday (Feb 15) at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.

Mahmudullah Riyad will captain the Bangladesh side in the first Twenty20 international against Sri Lanka in absence of incumbent captain Shakib Al Hasan. The Bangladesh Cricket Board on Tuesday made the announcement.

Shakib is still suffering a finger injury that he recieved in recently concluded ODI series. Tamim Iqbal, who is the vice-captain for the Tigers in T20Is, was overlooked for captaincy yet again.

Meanwhile, the selectors have also drafted in uncapped left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam Apu as a replacement for Shakib for the first T20I.

The second match of the series will be held in Sylhet on Feb 18.

Mahmudullah led team Bangladesh in the Test series in Shakib’s absence. The Tigers lost the series 1-0.

Bangladesh squad for the first T20I: Mahmudullah (Captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Soumya Sarker, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Haider Rony, Abu Jahed Rahi, Ariful Haque, Mehedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain and Nazmul Hossain Apu.